Memory Field

Not long ago, I took some visiting friends into town to catch a 5:22PM bus.

On leaving the bus stop I noticed some wave clouds, partly obscured by trees.

Halfway down Music Street, on the way to our road, is a seven-acre field. It occurred to me that there might be a decent look at the clouds from that vantage point. I had to walk a few hundred feet into the grass to get near the view I was hoping for.


This view was to the northeast…I took another photo, this time looking to the south-southwest.

This field is an evocative place for me.
During my younger years, crossing this field was part of the daily walk to and from school.
Our repeated passage wore a distinct path into the grass.
I don’t make this a daily trek anymore, but when I do walk to town, for whatever reason, I occasionally trespass, and walk crosslots, to bring back memories of that other time.

Leave a comment