Morning Stroll, California 2017, or, “What can you see in 45 minutes?”

Yesterday’s dawn stroll was pleasant. I left, and turned right and right and right until I got home.  Today I left and went left, around another part of the neighborhood.

A good time was had by me.

What did I see?

P1220281

Waterdrop lenses cast shadows on a succulent’s leaf.

Hey, bird on top of a thing! Which way should I go?

P1220288

The sparrow’s directions.

The bird was high.

A cat was low.

P1220290

I stopped to admire some extensive xeric plantings, and a wary cat gave me the eye.

There are many ways to treat your front yard.

P1220297

Water. Grass. As Joni Mitchell said: “the hissing of summer lawns”.

From xeric to irrigated to “edible landscaping”.

At this house were young lime trees at the curb, and between sidewalk and house, tomatoes, peppers, kales, and more.

P1220300

Edible landscaping.

I saw marvelous masonry.

P1220303

I give this entry points for its sheer “in-the-moment” masonry enthusiasm.

This Nor’Englander is reveling in the plant life that thrives in this mediterranean climate.

P1220309

Signs of a sunny clime.

On the next corner, a pair of palms rose high.

P1220314

Palm pair, Manhattan Beach, CA.

In a driveway, the bedewed back window of an old VW bus held a relic of another “age”.

P1220318

The decal on the window of the old VW van.

There are so many wonderful plants…I’ll have to give them a post of their own soon.

P1220334

Fine floral forms.

Here is where we are.

Manhattan Beach knows what they’re all about.

P1220343

Sun. Sand. Sea.

It’s early. In over a half hour I’ve seen no one. And then…

P1220367

A dog walker appears.

P1220370

The morning walkers. Two legs and four legs.

I meet another dogwalker and have a brief chat. He’s lived here since he was ten, has visited the east, says it’s nice and all that, but for him there’s no place like his western home. We exchange more pleasantries, and each go our own ways.

I stop for some topiary.

P1220383

I salute the topiary.

The walk continues past two more houses, and I’m home.

Forty-five minutes have passed.

Much day remains.

Seeya!

Leave a Reply

