Red Dawn from Mill Hill.

Because it faces east, sometimes I’ll sleep in the upstairs window seat. Why?

Because you get a window seat (sorry) for the sunrise.

The night of the full Snow Moon was a window seat night.

Just before dawn, I woke to this…

IMG_1304

Eos….first light.

I got out of bed.

I did not bother to drag a comb across my head.

I did put shoes on my feet, and did find the camera.

And stepped outside.

Dawn was coming fast.

IMG_1305

Dawn.
Purples and maroons and crimsons shove the night away.
Muscular.
Crepuscular

When I turned toward the house, dawn still looked at me.

IMG_1307

Dawn storm door reflections.

Red sky in the morning. (Sailors’ warning.)

Most of the sky was overcast.

The first light was lighting the underside of the cloud deck.

Sun was coming.

These “cloud deck” sunrises are brief and spectacular.

So are cloud deck sunsets.

Neither event lasts very long.

IMG_1302

The sun is almost up.
I like the three near branches across the top of the picture reaching for each other.

The front yard here is not the best place to watch the sunrise.

Partially blocking the east are oaks and maples and understory growth, clethra, blueberry, viburnum, saplings.

If you run down the road a bit and cross over to the field, you can get a less obstructed view.

But there wasn’t time, and it was too cold. I had not put a jacket on.

Here came the sun.

IMG_1316

Sun through swamp maple trunks and branches.

IMG_1314

Sun through the stem and branches of a young juniper.

IMG_1326

Sun’s suffusing light…hot yellows, oranges, reds…crimsons, cardinals.
All ablaze.

Take an even closer look.

IMG_1319

Thanks to the camera we can look this closely without hurting our eyes.

Closer still.

IMG_1325

Silhouetted twigs calligraphically cross El Sol.

Too cold to stay outside any longer.

IMG_1328

Inside, looking out, I take a last sunrise photo.

Of Our Star, shining through our star.

3 responses to “Red Dawn from Mill Hill.

  1. Those squares are pane-lets of colored glass, set into the lights of the door. They look really nice from the inside, at dawn, and from the outside at night when lights are on. I should do a post of them. One of my daughters liked them enough to write a poem in their honor, back when she was writing poetry.

Leave a Reply

