The Mysterious Hanga in the Bathroom. Part the First.

One of the things I learned unconsciously from my father is that it is a good idea to have art in your bathroom. Thanks to his influence, where ever I have lived, I have tried to keep the walls interesting. The current exhibition of five works includes a pencil drawing from an illustrator friend, of a Satyr on a couch.  In a small frame to its left is a miniature watercolor of a person fleeing a burning building, done by a longtime friend. Over the washbasin hangs an etching of bluebill ducks in flight over a salt pond. The etching was made by the father of a man I grew up with. In the largest space is a print from the late 19th century, of two French women duelling with swords.

The fifth item is an old Japanese print. 

I’m trying to learn more about this print, and the process has been fascinating. A facebook friend has helped a great deal. She spent many years in Japan, My vocabulary of Japanese words has increased.

IMG_1148

The print once belonged to my father, who inherited it from his maternal grandfather.
Assuming that life goes on, and that the human race will persist, somebody in the next generation of my family will inherit it.

The more you look at the print, the more interesting it gets.

I’ll write another post about this print soon, with images that show the work in closer detail.

 

One response to “The Mysterious Hanga in the Bathroom. Part the First.

  1. My father was more prosaic. One thing I learned from him was that Reader’s Digest was ideal bathroom reading: most articles could be finished in one visit, and without keeping anyone waiting.

Leave a Reply

