What Can You See in One Hundred and Twenty-Seven Seconds? Or,The Curtain and the Washing Machine: Reflections and Transmissions.

One morning at drawing class, I’d left off correcting the proportions of the first drawing of a spider monkey skull, and had gone to take a break.

IMG_9597

Don’t look too closely, there are still plenty of corrections to be made in this first drawing.

When I was done “breaking”, on the way out I happened to look back into the room.

I saw the washing machine.

Actually noticed it.

Noticed what was happening on and around it.

Late morning sun was coming through the curtained window.

I took out my camera.

IMG_9727

Beauty was in the bathroom.

IMG_9728

Noticing sometimes comes so unexpectedly.

IMG_9729

The light was wonderful, entrancing, exciting.

IMG_9730

Close in, close up, the colors and patterns were fascinating.

IMG_9734

Outside, it’s November.

Leaves have left the trees, letting in full sun.

IMG_9735

Light, shade, repetition, variety, contrast…..

IMG_9731

Curtain edges interrelate.

IMG_9732

Where did that rainbow patch come from?

IMG_9736

During my noticing and picture-taking I had no sense of time.

I had to check the data stored with the images to find out how long I was picture-taking.

The noticing period that brings you this post was two minutes and seven seconds.

One hundred and twenty-seven seconds.

4 responses to “What Can You See in One Hundred and Twenty-Seven Seconds? Or,The Curtain and the Washing Machine: Reflections and Transmissions.

  1. Ahhh – the beauties of unanticipated patterning effects, created by regularly occurring shifts and shafts of light — and the still/again charm of 19th century Battenberg lace. Nice viewpoint and capture, Tom!

  2. I get lost taking photos sometimes… I suddenly become aware I’ve been at some awkward angle for far too long and wonder if anyone was watching and what they must have thought! Oh well the end result is worth it! Great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

