What is It?

Some friends have already had a time of it, guessing what this is.

Since they had so much fun with it, you ‘pilers get a chance, too.

If you know already, don’t spoil it for the others.

IMG_9752

 

(About a month later, no one has come up with the answer.)

So, here are more photos.

Photos that contain the answer.

Here is a side view…

IMG_9754

Here they are flipped over, to expose the next big clue.

IMG_9753

And here’s the answer.

IMG_9756

 

My pencil eraser was not sharp enough to get into a small wrong detail in one of my drawings.

The electric pencil sharpener was handy.

When the machine ate the tip of the pencil, this fringy ort was tossed aside.

 

IMG_9755

 

Thanks for your patience.

6 responses to “What is It?

  1. It’s got to be some part of a plant, right? But the colors are very strange, and the shape is so asymmetrical. Could it be part of a plant that has been changed, like maybe wrapped around a caterpillar as protection?
    Oh and I just realized there’s no way to tell scale – I’m reading these as very small, but they could be weird red palm fronds.
    I give up.

    • The part about it being a part of a plant that has been changed is actually true. The caterpillar part is not. Scale info: each one of these little thingies would fit into a square that’s a half inch on each side.

    • For my drawing work I have a pencil-type eraser. When I poked it into the Panasonic electric sharpener, these are the “shavings that resulted. I’ll add a picture to the post that shows more clearly what happened.

  2. Ah ha! That is a far more interesting shaving than I would have expected. I was expecting an answer akin to “it is the false eyelash of a rubber tree plant doll.”

Leave a Reply

